Happy New Year!

 

wp-1483536125823.jpg

Its been awhile since I last blogged; in the meantime I’ve celebrated Christmas, our wedding anniversary, my birthday; mourned the sudden loss of a friend I’ve known since childhood, beaten flu, and nursed my family while they too suffered from it.  With everything that was going on, the blog was put to one side for the time being.

I took a complete break from work over Christmas – a week which is almost unheard of for me! Having the time to focus on relaxing, getting better, crocheting, reading and enjoying some much needed uninterrupted time with my husband and daughter was bliss.  I love my work, it is both very rewarding and challenging – but I admit to being a workaholic. I rarely take proper breaks from work, even on holidays I still answer work emails etc. I never take a proper lunch break, and often start early and finish late.  I have noticed that the past few months to a year I’ve found it very difficult to switch off from work and relax properly in the evenings and having a wonderful week off work where I did actually manage to not think about work has made me realise I need to make some changes to my working practices.

I’ve already started this week by making sure I take a proper lunch break . I work from home which means that I’m not bound by office timings that usually determine lunch and other breaks.  I close my laptop, and replace it with the book I’m currently reading and for 30 mins I read and enjoy my lunch – unrushed and uninterrupted. When the weather is more inviting I intend to take short 15 mins walks as part of my lunch break – time out of the office environment and enjoying a bit of nature (even for a short time) must surely be invigorating and help blow the cobwebs away.

The day before Back To Work Day, hubby and I decided to escape for the day and head off to discover somewhere new to explore. We enjoyed a gentle walk in beautiful winter sunshine along the coast, ending up in a traditional pub for one last holiday pint. There’s nothing more inviting in a pub than an open fire roaring away to warm one’s bones after a chilly winter walk!

wp-1483476812630.jpg

 

A new year always presents us with a fresh opportunity to either improve what we already have or make changes to what we do. This year instead of the usual (and usually abandoned) plans to lose weight I’ve decided to expand my knowledge of crochet by taking on projects that are more complicated than anything I’ve attempted before. Im currently making a “virus shawl” (revolting name, but pretty pattern!) and on Friday I start my fist CAL (crochet along) – Attic24’s gorgeous Moorland Blanket, with the colours chosen to represent the beautiful Yorkshire landscape.  I also want to learn Nålebinding which is an ancient craft that pre-dates knitting and crochet. I also plan to find time to get out more with my camera – there’s no excuse really; I live in a beautiful part of England where I can walk in lush rolling Downs, along jurassic coastlines, or in historic villages and towns. It’s just all matter of learning to tear myself away from work……

 

Whatever you do this coming year, I wish you a year filled with adventure, happiness, joy, love,laughter, opportunities and fulfillment. May it be a great year for you.

This entry was posted in beer, Books, Comfort, Cosy, crochet, family, Home, Hygge, Hygge Homes, Nature, reading, Uncategorized, Wildlife, winter and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

