30 Days of Hygge – Day 1, Braised Red Cabbage and Blackcurrant Jam

cabbage1_1789351b

Today is the first day of my “30 Days of Hygge”, each day throughout November I will post an idea for you to try so that you too can embrace hygge. Hygge is more of a way of living than something that can be bought; no-one is too old (or too young) to embrace hygge, you don’t need to spend small fortunes on specific items, and you can enjoy hygge anywhere.

For me, one of my best times of the day is when we are all together enjoying our evening meal and catching up on what we’ve each been up to. As we come into the colder months (It’s now officially winter), warming, wholesome food is very much a staple of our meals. Braised red cabbage is one of my all-time favourites, and is my go-to food when I’m feeling the need for comfort. This is my own recipe with a twist on a traditional winter dish.

You will need:

1/2 a red cabbage

1 large apple

3 tablespoons of balsamic vinegar

2 large tablespoons of Blackcurrant conserve (I highly reccomend Aldi’s Scandinavian Blackcurrant conserve)

freshly chopped ginger (to taste – I like quite a bit)

cracked black pepper

knob of salted butter

a slosh of red wine (around 2 or 3 tablespoons)

Preperation:

thinly slice the red cabbage, removing the core.

chop and core the apple (I always leave the skin on)

Place  all your ingredients in an ovenproof dish (or large saucepan if cooking on the hob) and put the lid on.

Cooking:

Cook gently for at least one hour – oven temp gas mark 3/160 C (or on a very low heat/flame if on the hob), stir occasionally to make sure the cabbage doesn’t stick to the bottom.

When the cabbage is ready, it should be a wonderful dark glistening red with no liquid remaining in the pot.

Serve with butcher’s’ sausages, creamy buttery mash – and a large glass of Claret.

This entry was posted in 30 Days of Hygge, Comfort, food, Home, Hygge, Hygge Homes, recipies, wine and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 30 Days of Hygge – Day 1, Braised Red Cabbage and Blackcurrant Jam

  1. hyggejem says:

    I love red cabbage; I’m definitely adding blackcurrant jam to it next time I do it!

    Like

    • hyggehomeuk says:

      the blackcurrant jam really enhances the flavour of the cabbage – and no need to add sugar, which lots of recipes include. You could also use redcurrant jelly or bramble jelly.

      Like

  2. My grandma is German so red cabbage was always part of our British Christmas dinner – it’s not always included over here. It’s my favourite part and the leftovers are even better!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

